× Menu

Opera Queensland

Book Now
Email Updates

Project G&S is an Opera Queensland community initiative giving aspiring local artists the chance to live out their stage dreams and perform with us in a professional production of Gilbert & Sullivan’s Ruddigore, or the Witch’s Curse! All you have to do is register for an audition and sing for our friendly Opera Queensland panel when we come to your town.

If selected, you’ll work with Opera Queensland and local professionals, who’ll add the polish to your passion over an 8 week rehearsal period. The community choruses were a smash hit when Opera Queensland toured La bohéme toured in 2014 and The Barber of Seville in 2016, so don’t miss your chance in 2018.

Please note: Auditionees must be 16 years of age at the time of their audition.


EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT PROJECT G&S

DATES

GOLD COAST
Auditions: 
Thursday 15 & Friday 16 February, Home of the Arts (registrations close Thursday 8 February)
Rehearsals commence: Monday 21 May 2018

Performance: Friday 3 August & Saturday 4 August 2018

ROCKHAMPTON
Auditions: 
Monday 12 & Tuesday 13 February, Walter Reid Cultural Centre (registrations close Thursday 8 February)
Rehearsals commence: Monday 28 May 2018

Performance: Wednesday 8 August 2018

MACKAY
Auditions: Sunday 4 & Monday 5 March, MECC (registrations close Sunday 25 February)

Rehearsals commence: Monday 28 May 2018
Performance: Saturday 11 August 2018

TOWNSVILLE
Auditions: Wednesday 28 February & Thursday 1 March, Townsville Civic Theatre (registrations close Wednesday 21 February)

Rehearsals commence: Monday 4 June 2018 
Performance: Wednesday 15 August 2018

CAIRNS
Auditions: Tuesday 13 & Wednesday 14 March, Tanks Arts Centre (registrations close Tuesday 6 March)

Rehearsals commence: Monday 4 June 2018
Performance: Saturday 18 August 2018

TOOWOOMBA
Auditions: Monday 26 & Tuesday 27 March, Empire Theatre  (registrations close Monday 19 March)

Rehearsals commence: Monday 11 June 2018
Performance: Thursday 23 August 2018

Please note that rehearsals will be held one evening a week over an 8 week period. 


REGISTER FOR AN AUDITION

Project G&S is supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland


A NOTE FROM THE DIRECTOR

This production is definitely NOT a traditional Gilbert and Sullivan. It’s bold and quirky, inspired by a range of British comedy styles from Monty Python to AbFab. It’s also (as most of my productions are) quite physically demanding and relies on all cast members giving 100% energy throughout the show. In this production the chorus will dance a LOT and physical requirements are high.

LADIES
The ladies chorus play a troupe of professional bridesmaids.In the script they are supposed to be teenagers so while we can stretch that a little, we need the ladies chorus to be credibly youthful and fit. Dancing: for the bridesmaids there’s a very raucous hornpipe in the middle of Act 1, choreography in both finales, and quite a lot of action on the floor.

GENTS
The Gents in Act 1 will be playing the local cricket team,so they must be fit, able to kneel and run while singing. There’s a Morris dance for the Gents at the end of Act 1 and choreography at the end of Act 2. In Act 2 they are Ghosts who need to move in a “spooky” way and half of the gents will carry a light male adult above their heads.

I look forward to working with our regional choruses next year!

Lindy Hume
Lindy Signature

Lindy Hume directing a Ruddigore chorus rehearsal in the OperaQ Studio. Image by Stephen Henry.

Ruddigore chorus rehearsing the finale dance sequence. Image by Stephen Henry.

X