× Menu

Opera Queensland

Book Now
Email Updates


Opera Queensland was incorporated as a Company Limited by Guarantee in June 1981 as The Lyric Opera of Queensland Limited (LOQ) with funding from the Queensland Government as “a company for the presentation of performances of opera, light opera and music theatre”.

1981 – 1982

  • Lyric Opera of Queensland incorporated
  • First season at Her Majesty’s Theatre, Brisbane:
    • Iolanthe by Gilbert & Sullivan
    • La Belle Hélène by Offenbach
    • Il trovatore by Verdi
    • Così fan tutte by Mozart
  • A Gala Night of Song (Concert)


  •  Fidelio by Beethoven
  • The Merry Widow by Lehár
  •  The Flying Dutchman by Wagner (Concert Version)
  • Faust by Gounod (Concert Version)
  • The Creation by Haydn (Concert)
  • Cavalleria rusticana/Pagliacci by Mascagni/Leoncavallo
  • Strauss Beneath the Stars (Concert)


  • The Glory of Opera (Concert)
  • The Daughter of the Regiment by Donizetti (Concert)

1985 – 1986

  • The Marriage of Figaro by Mozart
  • Aida by Verdi
  • Orpheus in the Underworld by Offenbach
  • Move to Lyric Theatre in newly-opened QPAC
  • Merivale Street premises purchased
  • La bohème by Puccini
  • The Barber of Seville by Rossini
  • Rigoletto by Verdi