× Menu

Opera Queensland

Book Now
Email Updates

Project G&S is an Opera Queensland community initiative giving aspiring local artists the chance to live out their stage dreams and perform with us in a professional production of Gilbert & Sullivan’s Ruddigore, or the Witch’s Curse! All you have to do is register for an audition by  5.00pm on Thursday 8 February 2018 and sing for our friendly Opera Queensland panel when we come to your town.

AUDITION DATES

GOLD COAST: Thursday 15 & Friday 16 February, The Arts Centre Gold Coast
ROCKHAMPTON: Monday 12 & Tuesday 13 February, Walter Reid Cultural Centre
TOWNSVILLE: Wednesday 28 February & Thursday 1 March, Townsville Civic Theatre
MACKAY: Sunday 4 & Monday 5 March, MECC
CAIRNS: Tuesday 13 & Wednesday 14 March, Tanks Arts Centre
TOOWOOMBA: Monday 26 & Tuesday 27 March, Empire Theatre

If selected, you’ll work with Opera Queensland and local professionals, who’ll add the polish to your passion over an 8 week rehearsal period. The community choruses were a smash hit when Opera Queensland toured La bohéme toured in 2014 and The Barber of Seville in 2016, so don’t miss your chance in 2018.

NB: Auditionees must be 16 years of age at the time of their audition.


EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT PROJECT G&S

REHEARSAL & PERFORMANCE DATES

Please note that rehearsals will be held one evening a week over an 8 week period. 

GOLD COAST
Rehearsals commence: Monday 21 May 2018
Performance: Friday 3 August & Saturday 4 August 2018

ROCKHAMPTON
Rehearsals commence: Monday 28 May 2018
Performance: Wednesday 8 August 2018

MACKAY
Rehearsals commence: Monday 28 May 2018
Performance: Saturday 11 August 2018

TOWNSVILLE
Rehearsals commence: Monday 4 June 2018
Performance: Wednesday 15 August 2018

CAIRNS
Rehearsals commence: Monday 4 June 2018
Performance: Saturday 18 August 2018

TOOWOOMBA
Rehearsals commence: Monday 11 June 2018
Performance: Thursday 23 August 2018


REGISTER FOR AN AUDITION

Project G&S is supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland


A NOTE FROM THE DIRECTOR

This production is definitely NOT a traditional Gilbert and Sullivan. It’s bold and quirky, inspired by a range of British comedy styles from Monty Python to AbFab. It’s also (as most of my productions are) quite physically demanding and relies on all cast members giving 100% energy throughout the show. In this production the chorus will dance a LOT and physical requirements are high.

LADIES
The ladies chorus play a troupe of professional bridesmaids.In the script they are supposed to be teenagers so while we can stretch that a little, we need the ladies chorus to be credibly youthful and fit. Dancing: for the bridesmaids there’s a very raucous hornpipe in the middle of Act 1, choreography in both finales, and quite a lot of action on the floor.

GENTS
The Gents in Act 1 will be playing the local cricket team,so they must be fit, able to kneel and run while singing. There’s a Morris dance for the Gents at the end of Act 1 and choreography at the end of Act 2. In Act 2 they are Ghosts who need to move in a “spooky” way and half of the gents will carry a light male adult above their heads.

I look forward to working with our regional choruses next year!

Lindy Hume
Lindy Signature

Lindy Hume directing a Ruddigore chorus rehearsal in the OperaQ Studio. Image by Stephen Henry.

Ruddigore chorus rehearsing the finale dance sequence. Image by Stephen Henry.

X